BARLEY CASSEROLE IN THE INSTANT POT


I’ve had a recipe that I clipped from Prevention Magazine ages ago. It was a baked vegetarian barley casserole which I really enjoyed…when I was vegetarian. I like to cook faster now (enter my trusty Instant Pot) and I also like to use no animal products at all. I’ve modified the original recipe substantially so I feel comfortable in calling it my own, but I do say thanks to the folks at Prevention for the original inspiration.

BARLEY CASSEROLE

(4 Servings)

Combine the following in the liner of the Instant Pot:

1/2 cup pearl barley

1-1/4 cup water or vegetable broth (if not using bouillon)

1/2 teaspoon dried, minced onion

1/2 teaspoon dried, minced garlic

1 vegetable bouillon cube (I use a recipe by Kathy Hester)

Stir the above together and then pop the lid on the Instant Pot. Push manual and cook for 20 minutes, natural pressure release (this took about 16 minutes in my unit).

Once the float valve has gone down, open and add the following, one on top of the other (do not stir):

1 can of green beans (drained), or use 1-1/4 cups frozen green beans

1 small can mushroom slices, drained, or use 1/2 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

1/4 cup green pimento-stuffed olives, sliced (black olives are good, too)

1/2 jar roasted red peppers, drained and chopped

1/2 – 1 bag of fresh baby spinach leaves

1 jar marinated artichoke pieces

Put the lid back on, select manual, and cook an additional 3 minutes. When cooking is finished, do a quick release.

To serve: I put some of the casserole into a bowl and topped with cut up Roma tomatoes and some blanched slivered almonds. Salt and pepper to taste.

20150918_124007

Use any vegetables you’d like in this; just layer them as above. The marinated artichokes are what really make the dish so, unless you do absolutely no oil ever, use them. I haven’t tried using un-marinated artichoke hearts, but if you use those, I would add a considerable amount of Italian Seasoning to this.

As for barley…substitute brown rice, quinoa, wheat berries or another grain of your choosing. The initial cook time will need to be adjusted based on the grain.

Questions? Post them in the reply section and I’ll try to answer. If you cook this, please let me know what you think.

2 responses

Comments are closed.