RAW APRICOT COCONUT CHOCOLATE BARS


Every once in a while (Ha! More like every day!) I get a hankering for something sweet. I do try to stick with whole foods and avoid processed sugars. The following recipe came about to meet both needs.

I had some dried apricots that needed to be used so I soaked them a good 6 hours until they were soft, yet still dense. (Before you ask, YES, I did taste one or two during the day until they were to my liking). For a couple of years, I have wondered how apricots would work out in a raw bar. The answer is “GREAT!”

Raw Apricot Coconut Chocolate Bars Copyright 2015 by Shirley Utz

Raw Apricot Coconut Chocolate Bars
Copyright 2015 by Shirley Utz

This is simple and quick to prepare. I call them Raw Apricot Coconut Chocolate Bars. Yum.

Ingredients:

17 soaked, dried apricots (told you I consumed some; mine were unsulfered Turkish apricots from Trader Joe’s)

8 pitted Medjool dates

1/2 cup raw almond slivers (I found mine at Trader Joe’s)

1/2 cup unsweetened, dried coconut flakes

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa (you can also use cacao powder)

Directions:

Drain the apricots as best you can and add to the bowl of a food processor (use the S blade attachment).

Add the dates and pulse until the mixture starts to come together. Then add the remaining ingredients. Pulse until nuts and coconut are chopped up. This only takes 4 or 5 pulses.

Now…you can form this mixture into balls and roll in chopped almonds or coconut … or line an 8×8″ pan with wax paper or parchment paper. Put the mixture in and spread out until smooth with a spatula. (Be sure to taste it as you go…ha ha.) Use the spatula to cut the “batter” into squares (I eyeballed this so they were not exact squares). Either way you do it, refrigerate for a couple of hours to firm the bars up.

Try not to eat all of them at one sitting!

 

If you try this, please let me know what you think!

 

