Make a Purse, Build a Life


I sew. I am not necessarily the best sewist in the world, nor am I the fastest, but I do enjoy sewing and I think I do a relatively good job. At this point in my life, though, I need to sew very little for myself. Even my daughter and granddaughters aren’t all that interested in the things I create.

What’s a gal to do? Sew for others! A friend and I started a sewing group at our church and we’ve made crib sheets for the local pregnancy center and walker caddies for nursing homes and we have a lot of ideas we’re toying with. Thing is, I enjoy making purses. I don’t need them…I just enjoy making them.

And then I found it! The perfect outlet for my creativity! The Sew Powerful Purse Project provides purses made by people from around the world to local schools and clinics in Lusaka Zambia as part of Menstruation Hygiene Management (MHM) programs. Re-usable sanitary pads and health information are added to the purses and these mean that many adolescent girls can now attend school all month long. Cash donations are also accepted. This purse project was started by the Liberty Jane Pattern Company and they take no money for their efforts…100% of cash donations, except for  the $15 monthly banking fee, are used for educational purposes like training seamstresses and buying sewing machines.

It’s a great program and I am excited to participate in it. Please check out the 2015 Sew Powerful Purse Project and download the 2015 purse pattern. If you sew make a purse…or two…or three. If you don’t sew, contribute a few dollars toward improving the lives girls and women in Zambia. And if you want to meet some like-minded people, come join this fantastic Facebook group of people all working on purses for this project, Sew Powerful Purse Project.  You can also join the Sew Powerful Facebook page: Sew Powerful Facebook Page.

Let me know you’re participating!

