RECIPE FRIDAY: ZUCCHINI LUNCH


Zucchini…. Not my favorite vegetable. It’s bland and unappealing, in general. I have found, though, that when I spiralize zucchini, it has a different taste and it looks pretty, so that has become my favorite way to utilize it. This recipe is mostly raw, and can be made totally raw if you so desire (see note at the end). It’s also a quick meal using foods that are not unusual or difficult to find.

Zucchini Salad

Zucchini Lunch

 

ZUCCHINI LUNCH

(Nutritarian, Vegan, Oil free, Salt free, Sugar free, Gluten free….and can be made totally Raw)

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1 medium zucchini, spiralized (or grated)

1 large tomato, very coarsely chopped (mine are pretty good sized pieces)

1/2 cup frozen corn, roasted for about 10 minutes in 350 degree oven (little brown marks on the corn)

1/2 of a medium avocado, cut into chunks

2 Tablespoons chopped walnuts

Lime wedges

Directions:

Layer the ingredients on a plate. Squeeze lime juice on the salad and savor the flavors! I also added a side of a few organic blue corn chips.

Spiralized Zucchini

Spiralized Zucchini

Addition of chopped tomatoes.

Addition of chopped tomatoes.

Addition of roasted corn.

Addition of roasted corn.

 

Notes:

  • I fully intended to add some chopped green onion….forgot about it until I was eating the salad. By then it was too late.
  • A couple more additions I will make in the future: black or pinto beans and some cilantro. I need to go grocery shopping and those items are on my shopping list.
  • Totally raw option: Use fresh corn cut from the cob or some thawed frozen corn. And sprouted lentils would work nicely for the bean option shown above.
Zucchini Lunch...YUMMY!

Zucchini Lunch…YUMMY!

 

 

