A WORD (OR TWO) ABOUT THE FLU SHOT


First, a disclaimer. I am NOT a medical practitioner. The following is just my opinion, based on my experience. Please do your own research and do not perceive this as medical advice.

ABC News showed a big map last night and tonight highlighting all of the states where the flu has hit. I believe the newest number is 41 states. Part of the story on flu is to insist that people get a flu shot. I question the health of doing that.

I have received the flu vaccine a couple of times, but I choose not to any more. First of all, the shot has resulted in my being quite ill previously…and we’re not talking redness and pain at the site of the injection; we’re talking serious cases of bronchitis that took nearly a month to get under control. Secondly, the vaccine is laden with toxins, like formaldehyde, which I choose not to knowingly allow in to my body. And thirdly, the flu strain for which the vaccine is made is not necessarily the flu strain that hits in any given year.

Yes, some people should get the vaccine, especially people who eat the Standard American Diet; unhealthy lifestyles and lack of nutritious foods do not create a particularly strong immune system. Since I’ve been following a nutritarian lifestyle (Dr. Joel Fuhrman, Eat to Live), my immune system has strengthened and, I believe, can efficiently fight cold and flu viruses without having the vaccine. (That does not mean that I will not get the flu or catch a cold, but that my body can quickly take out the virus.)

For the record, I am not against vaccines. Some, like the polio vaccine, have put an end to a horrible disease. Having the pneumonia vaccine or the shingles vaccine really makes sense for the elderly. BUT….most vaccines last for several years before needing another vaccine or a booster or require only one vaccine period. The flu vaccine is EVERY YEAR. And those toxins it contains are EVERY YEAR. It seems to me a healthier long-term option might just be to eat from nature’s pharmacy…..fruits and vegetables, nuts, seeds…..and get a stronger immune system.

Here’s some other info: http://beforeitsnews.com/alternative/2012/10/flu-vaccine-ingredients-as-lethal-as-ever-dont-risk-your-health-pass-on-the-flu-shot-2474096.html

What do you think of the flu vaccine? Did you, or are you, getting one this year?

One response

  1. I no longer get the flu shot either. I have had allergic reactions to them. The doctors would always ask if I was allergic to eggs (which I am not) when I would tell them about the allergic reactions. No one asked me if I was allergic to metals (which I am) or other compounds/toxins commonly used in flu shots. I have not had the flu in more years than I can count….it is not worth the risk to me and I agree with you Shirley that our E2L diet can help us fight the virus should we get sick and may even prevent getting it entirely with a stronger immune system. When we started E2L Jim and I were both in the midst of bad asthma attacks on steroids, antibiotics and numerous inhalers, which quickly resolved and neither of us have had an attack since – that was nearly 1-1/2 years ago.

Comments are closed.