HAPPY 2013!


Happy New Year!!!!!

Another new year….my, they seem to come so much faster now. When I was just a kid, it seemed a year was endless. Now if I blink, we’ve entered a new year.

Have you made any resolutions for this year? I’ve decided that having a monthly goal works better than a list of resolutions. Resolutions made at the beginning of a year seem to get discarded rapidly….just look at all of the people who begin an exercise program at the gym in January and have totally abandoned their routine by February 1.

To avoid that trap, I’m setting a new goal at the beginning of each month. Statistics have shown that it takes at least 21 days for a new habit to “stick.” It’s also easier to focus on “just one thing.” At the end of one month, I will have (I hope) developed a new habit and will be ready to work on adding a new (and healthy) habit to my “radiant” life.

So what’s this month’s goal? Mushrooms! You see, I follow Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s Eat to Live  (or nutritarian) lifestyle. He recommends that each day we include GBOMBS in our diets. So what are GBOMBS? It’s an acronym for Greens, Beans, Onions, Mushrooms, Berries, and Seeds….all of these work to build up our immune systems and create healthy bodies. BUT…I’m not crazy about mushrooms. I usually bypass them (the number I’ve thrown away because they’ve rotted in the refrigerator will attest to that). So January is the month of the mushroom; and I’ll probably have to find ways to sneak them in.

At the end of January, I’ll be picking something new to work on for February. What are your plans for this year? Did you make a resolution (or more than one) or did you set a goal for yourself? Let me know….and I wish you much success!

ID-100123917

Image courtesy of renjith krishnan at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

