RECIPE WEDNESDAY: BAKED FALAFEL


I kept pondering what to make for myself for Thanksgiving. Hubby wanted his traditional turkey (breast only) and since I don’t eat meat, I needed something I could bake relatively quickly right after the turkey came out of the oven. I adapted this recipe from one I used as a vegetarian; it’s now vegan, nutritarian, and oil-free (except for a small amount on the baking pan, but that’s optional).

 

BAKED FALAFEL

2 cups cooked garbanzo beans (chick peas)…I cooked a 16 oz bag in my Instant-Pot and used roughly half of the cooked beans

1 tablespoon flax meal mixed with 2 tablespoons of water (let sit until it gels a bit; this replaces an egg)

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 stalks celery, minced

1/4 cup minced green onion

1 1/2 tablespoons tahini

1/2 teaspoon turmeric

1 1/2 tablespoons garbanzo flour

1/2 teaspoon red pepper

black pepper and salt, as desired

Mash the garbanzos really well (a few chunks are okay, but you want most of them pretty well mashed). Add remaining ingredients and combine with the mashed garbanzos. Chill for at least a couple hours. (I chilled overnight.)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees (F). Lightly grease a cookie sheet (or line with parchment paper for an oil-free option). Remove garbanzo mixture from refrigerator and form into 6 patties. (Or form them into any shape you want….you’ll need to adjust baking time a bit, though.) Bake 10 minutes and flip the patties; bake another 10 – 15 minutes. Remove from oven and enjoy!

That’s it! Mine don’t last very long, but I think these could be frozen successfully. If you try freezing, please let me know! And keep reading below for some serving ideas….

I like to eat falafel, sans bread, with a little German-style mustard. I’ve also thrown into an Ezekiel Wrap and added lettuce, tomato, and avocado. Try them in a pita with some chopped cucumber, chopped tomato, alfalfa sprouts and a little cashew mayonnaise. Whatever you do, ENJOY THEM!

And please, do let me know what you think and any modifications you made.

2 responses

  1. This sounds like a great recipe. I have been busy eating my garbanzo beans so will have to cook up some more to make this recipe.

    I like to wrap my falafel in large lettuce leaves and eat them the way that you do with toppings but without the cashew mayo.

    Thanks for posting.

    • The wrap and the pita and the cashew mayo make it palatable for my husband, Jill. I usually just plop ’em on my plate and add toppings. Cooking our own garbanzos sure makes a big difference in taste, doesn’t it? Hope you try making these….I’m open to any suggestions for improvement!

Comments are closed.