RECIPE WEDNESDAY: PURPLE LIME SMOOTHIE


I start my day with a smoothie. On the days I do have something different, I wind up “starving” all day….meaning I want to eat constantly. My smoothies manage to fill me up and keep me satisfied for hours. Each day’s smoothie is a little different, but today’s made me extremely happy…so I thought I’d share it. (Keep in mind that some of the measurements are approximations….I just throw things in to the Vitamix!)

Purple Lime Smoothie

(makes about 40 ounces)

Ingredients:

1 cup coconut water (or almond milk)

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon hemp hearts

1/2 tablespoon alcohol-free vanilla

2 Medjool dates, pitted

2 celery stalks, cut into chunks

3 medium size kale leaves, stems removed and torn in pieces

1 cup red seedless grapes

1/2 cup fresh (or frozen) cranberries

1-1/4 cup frozen blueberries (Costco has organic wild blueberries which I use)

1 lime; slice off the ends and peel with a knife

Directions:

Put everything in to a high speed blender and whirl until smooth. Add ice to the consistency (and coldness) you desire. Pour into a glass, add a straw, and sip away.

I can drink a whole smoothie by myself, but feel free to share with a friend or two!

About my straw…..this is a glass straw made by Glass Dharma and available on Amazon here (lots of choices): http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=glass+straws

