BUTTERNUT SQUASH CASSEROLE


A couple of weeks ago, I posted a recipe for Butternut Bisque. Last night I put together an incredibly easy casserole that I hoped the non-vegan (non-vegetarian) hubby would go for. He loved it! And so today I present Butternut Squash Casserole!

BUTTERNUT SQUASH CASSEROLE

4 (good-size) Servings. Vegan, “nutritarian,”  no-salt, non-fat

Ingredients:

3 cups butternut squash cubes (For ease, I buy them already cubed, but you can certainly use a fresh squash; just peel and de-seed it.)

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar (use a good quality one for the best flavor)

2 Fuji apples, cored and coarsely chopped, about 2 1/4 cups (Honey Crisp would probably be really good, too!)

1 tablespoon Maple syrup (or if you don’t like maple, try date syrup)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground allspice (optional)

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used pecans, but use whatever you like)

1/2 cup organic dried cranberries (these are sweetened, but the ones I found used cranberry seed oil in the processing)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 F. Lightly grease a 2 quart casserole with coconut or olive oil. (To avoid all oil, line the casserole with foil; the ingredients may stick a bit, but it will still work.) In a bowl, combine the squash with the balsamic vinegar until the squash is coated. Pour into the casserole. Rinse out and dry the bowl. Now combine the chopped apples, Maple syrup, cinnamon, and allspice until the apples are nicely coated.Top the squash with the apples.

Layer the nuts and cranberries on top and mix everything up in the casserole dish.

Cover with foil and bake about 45 minutes, or until squash and apples are soft.

I’ll be making this again as part of my Thanksgiving meal! If you try the recipe and enjoy it, please let me know!

Note: I fully intend to dry my own cranberries so they will be sugar-free and completely oil-free. I did not have the time to do that this time. Or…I believe this would work well with cooked, without sugar, cranberries….or maybe even, blueberries. Just some ideas….

2 responses

  1. From what I’ve learned, Barb, the cranberries have a hard shell that needs to be softened. To do that, blanch the cranberries in boiling water for one minute. Drain and immediately immerse in ice water. Once they’re cooled (and it shouldn’t take long), drain them again and dry them off….air, paper towel, towel, whatever works for you; just make sure they’re free of moisture. Then put them in your dehydrator. My info recommended drying them at 135 F until they’re at that chewy stage. I bought a 3 pound bag at Costco so I think I’ll be dehydrating some very, very soon! (I would think you could dry them in the oven at a low temp, like 200 F, also.)

Comments are closed.