RECIPE WEDNESDAY: “NUTRITARIAN” BROCCOLI SALAD


It’s Recipe Wednesday! Today I give you “Nutritarian” Broccoli Salad. Yes, there are loads of vegan broccoli salad recipes on the internet. This one may be similar to one or several of them, but it’s all mine. This recipe is vegan, oil-free, and salt-free.

 

“NUTRITARIAN” BROCCOLI SALAD

Serves 2

Ingredients:

For the dressing:

1 cup raw cashews, soaked for 2 hours (drain before using)

2 – 3 pitted Medjool dates

3 Tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar (I prefer Braggs)

1/2 cup filtered water (you’ll probably need more)

For the salad:

1 good-sized broccoli crown; break into small florets

4 green onions, white and light green parts, sliced

1/4 cup raisins, soaked to soften, and drained

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 mango, peeled and chopped (or use thawed frozen mango pieces)

1 small avocado, peeled and sliced

1/4 cup fresh (or thawed from frozen) pomegranate arils (seeds)

 

Directions:

Combine dressing ingredients in Vitamix or blender jar and blend on high until smooth. (This makes a thick dressing; I like mine thinner, so I wound up adding about 1/2 cup water in addition to what’s shown in the recipe.) May be made in advance and keeps 4 – 5 days.

Combine broccoli, onions, raisins, sunflower seeds and mango. Toss with salad dressing, using as much as you like. (I don’t like loads of dressing, so I used about a quarter of the dressing for this salad.) Refrigerate for a couple of hours before serving. Just before serving, top with sliced avocado and pomegranate arils.

Notes:

  • I used 3 dates; next time I’ll use 2 and probably increase the apple cider vinegar to 4 tablespoons because I like that flavor.
  • Try the dressing with coleslaw….nice flavor combo.
  • I took a little of the dressing and added some dill weed today and used it on a big, green salad. Delicious(!), especially if you have a little fruit in the salad.
  • Substitute pepitas (pumpkin seeds) or sliced almonds for the sunflower seeds.
  • I think fresh pineapple chunks would work well in lieu of the mango (or with!). I’ll be trying that next!
  • I AM A CREATIVE COOK! I don’t always measure exactly….I tried to for this recipe, but I guessed a bit, too, on the amounts. So…if you’d like more or less of an ingredient, go for it!

Here’s a close up:

 

Enjoy!

4 responses

Comments are closed.