SHOUT OUT TO SEASON’S HARVEST


A couple of years ago a new restaurant opened. The setting: an old house with a wrap-around porch, sheltered by a few trees, pots of herbs on the steps. Quaint. And different…it was a farm to table restaurant…local and mostly organic foods (REAL foods!) made special by loving hands. That restaurant was, and still is, Season’s Harvest Cafe.

At the time Season’s Harvest opened, I was not a particularly healthy eater, and definitely not a vegan or “nutritarian.” As a result, even though I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, I did not fully appreciate it. That has changed.

When I go to Season’s Harvest, I’m greeted by smiling faces; Christian music plays softly in the background; Republic of Tea cans line a shelf behind the counter; freshly made muffins and cookies (sometimes, pies) are bountiful in the display case. I hear the clatter of plates, the whir of the juicer, the loud blending of a smoothie. I sit at a rustic table and Shawnee brings me a menu of today’s creations. Inevitably I gravitate to the raw food entree of the day….and inevitably I’m overwhelmed with the bliss of how good it tastes. My hubby usually orders a panini or other sandwich. Regardless…each day the menu is different for lunch. Breakfast has its own standard menu with some pretty amazing offerings there, too.

Today the hubby and I made our way over to Season’s Harvest for an early lunch. And, as usual, I was blown away by the flavors of my raw entree…. Carrot Salad with sunflower seeds and raisins seasoned with cumin…. a Harvest Salad with seasonal fruits and veggies and a side of apple cider vinegar dressing…. Raw cucumber soup…. A glass of iced tea…. Everything created and served with love…. Oh, yes! All IS right with the world.

Beket and Joanne Griffith and their family have made Season’s Harvest my favorite place to eat (outside of my home). Not only does the food feed my body, but the atmosphere and joy I find there feed my spirit. Thanks, Beket and Joanne for creating a special place that’s more than just another restaurant…..it’s a haven.

Season’s Harvest Cafe

10609 Grant Road, Building A, Houston, TX 77070

(281) 807-9000

Tue – Sat:9:00 am-2:30 pm

8 responses

  1. What an amazingly wonderful depiction of our restaurant! Thank you so much for your kind and warm words. We set out to make this little nook a place where one could be refreshed and renewed, both physically and spiritually, allowing our mental chaos and emotional whirlwinds to come to a halt for just a moment as we enjoy the flavors of health. It means the world to us to hear that there are others who “get it” and who find the same solace in this little place that we do. I appreciate the time you spent to share our hearts with others… thank you so very much.

  2. We’ve been eating here since almost the beginning. The food is fresh and healthy and the atmosphere is great for the spirit and soul. You don’t want to miss this!

  3. That was so beautifully put! We are obsessed with the restaurant ( and owners) ourselves. They have given my family and I a whole new outlook on how eat and are just an all around inspiring family.

Comments are closed.