Recipe Wednesday: Zucchini “Pasta” with Raw Marinara


The recipe I had intended to create for today never happened. I was going to use the beets from my co-op box in a special salad, but those beets wound up in fresh juice instead….and I don’t have a picture of the juice 😦  The recipe below, though, was made last weekend when I wanted something really quick that required no cooking. It totally hit the spot! Although zucchini is not one of my favorite veggies, I found that when I turn it in to pasta, it gets a little “oomph!” This recipe is vegan, nutritarian, oil-free, and salt-free (unless you choose to add salt).

ZUCCHINI “PASTA” WITH RAW MARINARA

(Serves 1)

Ingredients:

1 medium zucchini (really large ones tend to be tough and lacking in flavor)

1 good-sized tomato, quartered,  or a package of cherry tomatoes

3 green onions

A handful of fresh basil

Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper, to taste

Spiralize the zucchini with a spiralizer (I have a Spirooli …. https://www.buyspirooli.com/?s_kwcid=TC-2818-11635552650-bb-1432827089 ) or run the zucchini through a food processor using the grater blade. Place on a plate.  Combine the tomato, onions, basil and optional spices in the bowl of a food processor (I used my mini-processor for this). Pulse until slightly chunky. Top zucchini “pasta” with the sauce. Eat! It’s that easy. If you like pine nuts, you could add a few as a garnish. Sliced black olives would be good, too.

You can add other raw veggies to the marinara also. It all depends upon how much time you have and how much prep work you wish to do. This was perfect (and perfectly simple) for me last weekend. Let me know if you try this and how you change it up!

