STEP OUT


“It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new.

But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful.

There is more security in the adventurous and exciting,

for in movement there is life, and in change there is power.”

 Alan Cohen

I saw the above quote attached with a picture on a Facebook posting today. It really struck a chord with me.

It is so difficult to let go of the comfortable, to walk a path we’ve never traveled before, to attempt that which we’ve never tried. And, yes, it is courage which allows us to let go of the old comforts and step out into something new. In the process we become new people.

We learn that there is so much more for us (and to us)….there are new things to learn, new mountains to climb, new people to meet, new doors to open. Life becomes less ritualistic and less boring. We wake up excited to start each day. We are renewed, revived.

I choose to grab hold of the adventure!

But even adventures are journeys; and a journey is not a one day event. Each adventure begins with a single choice, a single step. I’m reminded of  Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade. Indiana is faced with a wide chasm and no apparent way to get across it. But he is told that all he needs to do is take that first step. With much hesitancy and a great deal of trepidation, he steps out. There before him appears a bridge. Courage and faith won out for Indiana Jones and it must for us also. It is only when we have the faith to believe that we are worth the adventure that we gather our courage and take that first step.

What have you been wanting to do that you’ve not mustered the courage to aim for it? What dream have you pushed way down inside yourself? Whatever adventure awaits you, STEP OUT! It’s only then that the adventure can begin. Don’t get stuck in your comfort zone. STEP OUT!  Life should be one very long adventure! STEP OUT! Don’t push the “pause” button one more time; start your adventure today!

2 responses

  1. I’m doing what I’d been wanting to do — running. 5 weeks ago this Grandmother couldn’t run 90 seconds, now I run 15-20 min clips… it’s not a marathon but I’m still lapping my old self sitting on the couch with a bag of Doritos 🙂 (( doing the couch25k program ))

    What a wonderfully encouraging post!
    MJ

  2. That’s so wonderful, MJ! I’ve recently taken up running also. I stick with the treadmill because pavement really messes up my knees and I do mostly intervals for 45 minutes….1 – 1.5 minutes running followed by 40 seconds to 1 minute recovery. I’m amazed at how much I’m able to do (and I think I’m older than you!) Great reports on C25K…several friends are doing it. Check out the Cardio Coach progam, too, at cardiocoach.com

Comments are closed.