Oh, For a Cup of Tea


Having my husband home, sick, has made for numerous distractions. He’s been hanging around for over a week and, much as I love the guy, I’m often at wits’ end. The positive side is that I’m really motivated to head to the gym and exercise. And I did do that today…for a nice long time…

Another thing that improves my mood? TEA! Good ol’ black tea….no flavorings, nothing added, just the tea. I know that tea (well, the caffeine part, anyway) is not Fuhrman-approved (that’s Dr Joel Fuhrman, author of Eat to Live) and I do try to follow the plan pretty closely. I tried giving up tea for a while and found I just missed it too much. It’s not the caffeine, it’s the taste and the warmth that revives my sagging spirits.

My teapot calendar for October had this lovely quote by Samuel Johnson, “[I am] a hardened and shameless tea drinker…” That description fits me completely. Fortunately, I’ve learned how to decaffeinate it myself which makes for a much improved cuppa when compared to commercial de-caf teas.

How does one decaffeinate tea at home? It’s really quite simple. Bring your water to a boil (filtered water preferred) and pour a small amount (I use about 1/4 cup) over your tea leaves or tea bag. Let brew at least 30 seconds, and up to 1 minute. Pour off that brewing and add fresh boiling water; steep to your preferred strength. Approximately 80% of the caffeine is reduced in the first 30 seconds of brewing and you are left with a cup of tea that actually tastes like tea. I told you it was simple!

And speaking of tea, I’d like to recommend a great source for teas and information: http://www.uptontea.com  Upton is located in Massachusetts and I’ve been ordering loose teas from them for at least 15 years. The selection is vast, the service is superb, and the company has an extremely informative newsletter. AND Upton sells samples! No one has to commit to a large volume of tea without trying it first. My first order, in fact, was all samples. Give them a visit! (By the way, I’m just a VERY satisfied customer!)

Image courtesy of blackstock at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Now….I’m going to go sip some (decaffeinated) tea and let the day melt away. Anyone want to join me?

6 responses

  1. Shirley…I love your post about tea. I love tea but feel I dont know that much about it. Thanks for sharing the tea website….I will definitely check it out!!

      • Shirley…I was just looking at the tea website…kinda overwhelmed…what sampler pack would be good to start with? What kind of tea pot do you own> I have a small glass pot with an infuser basket I purchased from qvc a while back…it is not ceramic…wondering if that will make a difference in the tea taste?

      • I didn’t buy one of the sampler packs, Sheri, but the Intro to Fine Tea Sampler looks like a good one. If you like chai, the de-caf chai agni is really good (a little hot pepper in it!). For black teas, I favor Assam, Ceylon, and African teas, sometimes making my own little blend. (There’s a tea from Rwanda listed that I want to try!) As for teapots, I collect them! To me, they’re absolutely beautiful. You’ll love your glass one! It’s lovely to watch the tea brewing. One suggestion, though, is don’t use any detergent to wash your pot. Wash it with hot water and, if needed, some baking soda. That way there won’t be any soap to interfere with the flavor of your tea. When you first start trying tea, also, brew for the shortest recommended time. Some of us like a strong cup (brewed longer) but that’s kind of a gradual, acquired taste.

  2. I did not know you could decaf tea this way on your own! Thanks for sharing this. I will definitely try this as I love tea and have some powerful caffeinated tea my husband brought back from India that I’ve love to drink if it was decaffeinated and now I can!! There is something about a nice cup of tea that is lifting and relaxing at the same time.

Comments are closed.