Who Are You?


I’m reading the book, A Life That Matters: Five Steps to Making a Difference by P.K. Hallinan, a pastor and a children’s book author. Even before he was an author or a “real” writer, he told people “I am a writer.” P.K. now teaches a course to would-be writers and encourages them “to act as if it were already so.”

How many times do we tell ourselves “I’m not a ______?” How many times do we live up to what we’re not? Words are powerful. They have the power to kill a dream or make a dream come true . . . in our own lives, and in the lives of others. I remember, as a child, telling my dad what I wanted to be when I grew up. (I had a profound interest in archaeology.) My dad listed the reasons why I could NOT be an archaeologist. My dream was snuffed out. A teacher told me I’d never make it in science. I didn’t. For years I’ve told myself that I’m not an athlete. I didn’t become one.

My mindset has changed, though. Today at the gym, chugging along on the treadmill, I said over and over “I AM A RUNNER.” I still walk more than I run and my pace doesn’t exceed 4.0 mph, but I AM A RUNNER. I’ve never run a 5k, much less a marathon, but I AM A RUNNER. I may not look like one, but I am! Some day others will see what I believe I am today.

Many people (I once was one of them) look in the mirror and say, “I’m fat” or “I’m unhealthy” or “I’m ugly.” What happens when the dialogue changes to “I’m at my right size” or “I’m healthy” or “I’m beautiful”? We become what we believe we are. We may not look like what we believe we are….but we are; our bodies are playing catch-up with our minds. One day the rest of the world will see that we are what we’ve believed ourselves to be, too.

So . . . Who Are You?

7 responses

  1. O Shirley…I just love how you think. I thought it was sad so many people told you what you could not be in your life but you are changing that now…WTG! I have never been athletic. But I exercise every day of my life now. I enjoy trying new recipes. I love feeding my body healthy food. So what am I ? I am healthy. I enjoy exercise. I am a good Mom (no matter what dd18 tells me). I am happy to be your friend Shirley!!!!<3

Comments are closed.