Weakness Allowed Here


I made it back from my adventure visiting my granddaughters (and their mommy, my daughter, and daddy). The weather was perfect autumn weather in the New York City area and we were able to be outside quite a bit. My girls are growing up so quickly and they are full of questions and laughter. What a treat to spend time with them!

My return to Houston via Newark International Airport was, from an adult standpoint, the most interesting part of the whole trip. I had the most amazing taxi driver (I’ll call him TD because I did not learn his name) on the way to the airport. TD is a naturalized American citizen, a native of Egypt, and a Coptic Christian. TD had strong opinions about what was going on in Egypt and surrounding countries right now….after the uprisings in Tunisia, Egypt and Libya followed by the most recent attacks on U.S. embassies, there is much about which to be opinionated. In a short span of time, he was able to provide me with insight into politics based on Islam. (Please note, I follow politics to a degree, but I don’t immerse myself in it.)

TD’s most important statement was a religious one, though, and it is the one statement that has made an impact on my thinking. He mentioned that, while he was still in Egypt, he was asked by a Muslim why he was a Christian. His reply was, “Because my GOD is alive, yours is dead; you can go see his grave.” Then he added this, “In Islam, they must defend their god; my GOD is strong and powerful. HE doesn’t need to be defended. I am the weak one.”

And that is the reality….I do not need to defend GOD or my belief in HIM. HE is the strong one; I am the weak one. HE defends me! How amazing is that! That’s why I, as a Christian, don’t have to go around terrorizing those who malign Jesus or my faith in HIM. HE can handle that; it’s not my responsibility. All I need to do is keep my eyes on HIM. Thank you, TD, for reminding me of that important truth.

 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9  (NIV)

It really is okay to be weak.

6 responses

  1. Dang. You were in NJ? I would have loved to see u even if only for 5mins .. I hope I don’t miss seeing Hope tomoro . All kind of surreal to me. I lived NYC on and off since 1977. Then in one place 99-05. Then worked there everyday 07-09. Can’t believe I’m in CT. And things are so financially bizarro . OY! Anyway I hope u get your groove back soon Miss Shirley ..

  2. What an interesting conversation you had; I loved reading his perspective.

    And I used to live in Houston and flew in & out of IAH many times; the world really is small.
    Bests to you!
    MJ

Comments are closed.