I Can See Clearly Now


Yesterday was a bit disappointing. After eating a plant-based diet for nearly eight months, I went for my yearly eye exam with the hope that my vision had improved or that, at minimum, there was no change. Not to be… My vision had changed significantly, and for the worse, in one short year.

Of course, the appointment itself had me feeling a bit peevish. My usual eye doctor had had surgery and was unavailable so I had to go to another office and an unknown eye doctor. I arrived ten minutes early….and twenty minutes later was asked to fill out some paperwork. Then, the woman at the desk kept asking me questions about insurance (I don’t have vision insurance and that was very plain on the form I had just handed her). I then asked if they had received my records. No. Apparently, the office had neglected to request them as I had been promised. By the time I was led back to the exam room, my nerves were frayed. Having just been put into the exam chair, I was asked to switch rooms. AAAARGH! I calmly let the technician know that I was a very unhappy camper….she handled it well, and the rest of the appointment went smoothly. Confession, though: I really did not like the doctor. And I certainly didn’t like having my eyes dilated (never have; not his fault)….and just after having the drops put in my eyes, the doctor told me to take a look at new glasses. NOT GOING TO HAPPEN! I’m sure he wasn’t particularly pleased with my lack of cooperation.

But…..here’s the up side to all of this. Last year if this had happened, I would have been in tears. I would not have been confident enough to state my feelings calmly or to assertively decline looking at glasses with dilated eyes. Does a change in what I put in to my body do that? I believe it does.

The foods I consume now are calming foods. And let’s face it, when an animal is slaughtered (no matter how humane the process), that animal is SCARED(!) Somehow, those feelings are stored in the cells of meat…..I know it sounds crazy, but I believe that fear was transmitted to me. My life is more calm, confident and radiant now because I consume foods that are “peaceful.” In fact, my whole idea of what constitutes “food” has changed significantly (more on this subject later).

Interesting….a trip to the eye doctor and I really do see more clearly (even without the new glasses).

2 responses

  1. It’s amazing how freeing it is to eat a plant-based diet. I’m sorry the eye doc was sucky, and that you didn’t see the results that you’d wished, but glad you were able to handle it differently.

Comments are closed.