Not Really A Green Thumb


I’ve been experimenting with the world of plants. A year or so ago, I cut the top off of a pineapple and, following some directions I found online, stripped off a few of the bottom leaves and set it aside to dry for a couple of days. Then I planted it in some regular old potting soil. I don’t know how long it took for it to root (didn’t tug on it), but that pineapple didn’t die. When it warmed up a bit here in the Houston area, I set it outside. My pineapple plant has been growing like crazy (in spite of getting hit by the weed whacker a few times) and it does need to be re-potted soon. When/if cold weather sets in for an extended period, I’ll bring the plant inside during the cold spell; pineapples, after all, are tropical plants.

From what I understand, it takes about 3 years for a pineapple to produce fruit….so I must be patient.

I’ve also tried rooting a pineapple top in water. That took about 4 months….really….4 months. But it did root and I need to pot it soon. No picture of that today, though.

Somewhere else online, I learned that I could take the bottom from celery and plant that and it would grow. I had the celery and a bare spot in my pot of basil so….Amazingly, the celery started leafing out within a day.

Doing so well with the celery led me to pop the bottom pieces from a couple of bok choy in another pot. They, too, look as if they will be leafing out. Pictures will come when they do.

I don’t have a green thumb, really. I’ve killed so many plants since moving to the Houston area…the weather here is just so different and there’s more than one growing season. Success with these little plants has made me excited about gardening, though. My yard is small and it took a lot of convincing to get my husband to allow me a little section of the back yard to do a container garden. Maybe when he eats some of my pineapple, celery and bok choy, I’ll be able to expand my little plot a bit.

Here’s hoping everyone will give it a try!

